Congratulations to Boston Breakers’ Sydney Leroux on being voted NWSL Fans’ Choice MVP for Week 4 for her three-goal performance in the Breakers home-opener this past weekend.

Leroux’s first goal came in the 25th minute after redirecting a header by teammate Mariah Noguiera past Chicago’s keeper Erin McLeod. The redirection was so fast that the PA announcer and the official play-by-play credited Noguiera with the goal however that was changed after the match as Leroux clearly got her head on the ball and redirected it into the goal.

In the 74th minute Leroux picked the ball from Carmelina Moscato at midfield and never looked back as she sprinted towards the goal and slid the ball past McLeod.

Leroux scored her third goal (and the FIRST HAT-TRICK IN NWSL HISTORY) just 10 minutes later as she received a beautiful pass from Kyah Simon and sent the ball to the far post and into the net.

“We really came together as a team. It was great to be back in Boston, and to have all these fans here cheering for us was really cool,” Leroux said after the match. “I think the team played amazing, and obviously I wouldn’t have the goals without my teammates.”

Our recap really didn’t do Leroux’s goals justice so we’ve created the animated GIF below of all three of her goals …

Leroux edged out FC Kansas City’s Becky Sauerbrunn in the Twitter vote while Portland Thorns FC’s Rachel Buehler easily won the Facebook vote. However when all the votes were tallied, Leroux came out on top by a single percentage point.

Final Voting Results for Week 4:

1) Sydney Leroux
2) Becky Sauerbrunn
3) Rachel Buehler
4) Abby Wambach

NOTE: As most of your noticed we changed things up a little bit for the week four voting. Instead of nominating one player per team, the field consisted of one player per match. We also opened up the nomination process on our Facebook page to get input directly from you, the fans, on who had MVP performances during week 4. Thank you again for everyone who voted and all your suggestions on how to improve the NWSL Fans’ Choice MVP voting.