“Being allocated seven players from three national teams truly establishes the foundation of our roster,” said Head Coach Jim Gabarra. “A lot of anxiousness has surrounded the process as we waited to see which players we would receive, and this is officially the starting point for building our team. Next steps for us are the College Draft and free agency, but we now have some clarity on which moves to make in building a competitive team.”

Sky Blue FC was allocated Jill Loyden (USA), 
Kelley O’Hara (USA), 
Christie Rampone (USA), 
Melanie Booth (CAN),
 Sophie Schmidt (CAN), 
Monica Ocampo (MEX) and 
Lydia Rangel (MEX).

Here’s a closer look at the first seven members of the Sky Blue FC team:

Jill Loyden (USA, GK)
Was part of the United State’s 2011 World Cup team. Attended Villanova University and was named Big East Goalkeeper of the Year for three straight seasons. Loyden was also named NSCAA First-Team All-American First-Team All-Big East and was honored as the Big East Goalkeeper of the Year during her junior campaign at Villanova. Drafted by the St. Louis Athletica (WPS) in the 2009 WPS Draft and was the backup to fellow USWNT player Hope Solo. She also played for the Chicago Red Stars (WPS) and magicJack (WPS) during her WPS career.

Kelley O’Hara (USA, D)
Member of the 2012 Olympic gold medal team. Was one of only 3 USWNT players to play every minute of the 2012 Olympics. Attended Stanford University and won the 2009 Hermann Trophy. Was the third overall pick in the 2010 WPS Draft by FC Gold Pride (WPS) and also played for the Boston Breakers during her WPS career.

Christie Rampone (USA, D)
A three-time Olympic gold medalist for the United States who played all 570 minutes during the 2012 Olympics. She has also played in four Women’s World Cup finals. Attended Monmouth University and was a two-time Northeast Conference Player of the Year and started all 80 games of her collegiate career. Allocated to Sky Blue FC (WPS) during the inaugural WPS season and became a player-coach for the team during the season. Rampone was named the WPS Sportswoman of the Year. She finished her WPS career with the magicJack (WPS).

Melanie Booth (CAN, D)
Earned her first cap with Canada’s national team in the 2002 Algarve Cup. Played every minute during the 2002 U-19 Women’s World Cup where Canada won the silver medal. Named to the 2005 All-SEC First Team while playing for the University of Florida. Was part of the 2011 Pan American team who won the gold medal by defeating Brazil in penalty kicks. Won a bronze medal at the 2012 Olympics.

Sophie Schmidt (CAN, M)
Captained Canada’s U-20 team at the 2006 World Championships. Was part of the 2008 and 2012 Olympic teams. Played for the University of Portland and played forward for the first team as a sophomore while notching 7 goals and 7 assists in only 14 matches. Named to the Soccer America MVP Team (All-America) First Team, NSCAA First Team All-American, NSCAA All-West Region First Team. Played for magicJack (WPS) in 2011.

Monica Ocampo (MEX, F)
Played for FC Indiana of the W-League from 2006 to 2009. Signed a contract with the Atlanta Beat (WPS) in 2010.

Lydia Rangel (MEX, M)
Played for Mexico’s U-20 team in the 2008, 2010 and 2012 World Cups. Started three matches during the 2011 World Cup.

How do you think Sky Blue FC did in today’s allocation? Let us know in the comments below.